Herculean Task No. 1: Bake 300 brownies in 13 hours

Thank the heavens I have two working ovens of different sizes!

I was recently asked to bake 300 brownies for an event in Colombo and always up to the challenge, I agreed. The euphoria lasted all of an hour before I started stressing! I had of course been baking for orders for a while now, but never had I made 300 anything in one go in such a short time. So it was with some trepidation I started.

I started at 7.30 pm on Tuesday night, baked two batches of brownies by about 11.30. On Wednesday, I worked from 5.30 am. Beat, mix, bake, beat, mix, bake! My parents were scuttling around trying to help me, and I was baking with a vengeance for over 9 hours.

The only time I had a moment to take a picture while baking.
The only time I had a moment to take a picture while baking.

By 4.30 pm, the designated end time, the house smelt of nothing but brownies and I was quite high from having had only the chocolate, but the work was done, the pieces cut up and packed, and I was ready to leave.

The event took place in New Town Hall, and by the time I got there, slightly late due to a series of mad, only-happens-when-you-are-stressed events (one of those events being a road closure that rarely happens now), the place was packed! Over 200 people had come to the event. The discussion itself was very interesting, but I will be analyzing that separately.

The only pieces I got to photograph, as the others were eaten so quickly!
The only pieces I got to photograph, as the others were eaten so quickly!

WP_20141017_001

At the end of the session, the moderator took home an entire bag of brownies, and the others were left rummaging in empty boxes for brownies. People loved the brownies, and many people approached me to tell me how much they enjoyed them. Some had had more than one piece, and they kept on telling me how good the brownies tasted. This made my day! This race against time had not hurt the quality in any way. Very proud to have pulled this off. 🙂

One thought on “Herculean Task No. 1: Bake 300 brownies in 13 hours

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

